About Us

What We Do

Special Collections is a unit of the California State University, San Marcos (CSUSM) Library, whose primary mission is to serve as an essential partner in teaching and learning, research, and community engagement at the university. 

In support of this mission, Special Collections acquires, arranges, describes, preserves, and makes available records of enduring historic value that support the information needs of faculty, students, and members of the CSUSM community and beyond.

Special Collections also stewards the University's Archives, materials relevant to to California State University San Marcos from its origin in 1989 through the present day; and the Library's government documents collection. Scholarly Communications, which assist's our university community with academic research, scholarship, copyright, and publication, is a subunit of Special Collections and manages CSUSM's submissions to the California State University's institutional repository, Scholarworks.

Who We Are

Office Contact:

archives@csusm.edu
760-750-4312

Employees:

Amy Dyess
Library Services Specialist, Institutional Repository
adyess@csusm.edu
760-750-4377

Carmen Mitchell 
Scholarly Communications Librarian
cmitchell@csusm.edu
760-750-8358

Jennifer Ho 
Archivist for Special Collections
jho@csusm.edu
760-750-8359

Judith A. Downie (off contract until September 2022)
Special Collections & History Librarian
jdownie@csusm.edu 
760-750-4374

Laura Nelson
Library Services Specialist, Special Collections
lnelson@csusm.edu
760-750-4349

Sean Visintainer
Head of Special Collections
svisintainer@csusm.edu
760-750-4378

 

Contact Us

Telephone
(760) 750-4312

Email Us

Address
Special Collections Department
University Library
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Rd.
San Marcos, CA 92096